Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since libraries existed, they have played an important role in society. While a number of people believe that libraries has become unimportant, some have the opposite view. This essay will discuss why libraries are still ultimately important, but why they are losing significance they have. A public library is certainly one of the major facilities which contribute to the education of people. However, do libraries still matter in the digitized world? Nowadays, many college students prefer a library atmosphere rather than the home environment in order to study efficiently. Moreover, many people still continue to borrow books regularly from local libraries. For example, finding an available desk afternoon in the National Library, which is situated in Ankara, and can accommodate approximately 1200 people, is hardly possible. As another example, 1.5 million books were borrowed by bookworms in 2018. Therefore, it goes without saying that public libraries have a great importance among young people as well as adults. Nowadays, the interest to public libraries has relatively decreased over recent years. The main reason behind this trend is the increase of electronic reader usage among people. Today, some people enjoy digital books rather than printed books. For instance, a survey conducted by the Research Institute of Literacy has shown that 90% of the users of e-book readers never have visited a library after adapting the digital reader, and so, the number of people who visit regularly libraries decreased by 5%. However, the slightly decreasing figure shows that many people still benefit from library facilities. In conclusion, this essay discussed why library facilities maintain its own significance but why they are losing slight importance. In my opinion, although digitalisation affects minimally the importance of libraries, they are still among the essential facilities of the society.