nowadays museums and historical sites sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists than locals. why is this happening ? what can be done to attract locals to visit museums and historical sites more often.

It is true that only foreigners prefer to witness museums and historical places these days. High ticket prices and lack of interest can be the reasons for the low number of local visitors than foreigners, which can be overcome by giving additional benefits such as lower access fees to native people and organising events at these places. To begin with, high ticket price is a serious contributor to this low number of local visitors. For most of the sight-seeing places, the fees are not in proportion to the average salary of the locals. So it is only foreign travellers who can afford to buy tickets at such a high price. For example, the entrance fees for Tajmahal, one of the seven wonders of the world, is 1000 Indian rupees, which is more than the daily income for an average Indian. Furthermore, the lack of interest to visit such places is another vital factor contributing to the low turnaround of locals. Many of them would have already studied about these places during their schooling. So they may find it redundant to visit and listen to the same stories again. A possible solution to this problem can be the entry fee can be lowered for local visitors or these places can waive entry fees on weekends. This will encourage more people to come into these museums and historical places. Moreover, these places and can be made the centre of attraction for local people by organising various events on festivals. For example, Dussehra, which is one of the most famous festivals of India, can be celebrated in historical places. Museums can also plan exhibitions of artefacts and artwork in the festival season. This will attract many people to visit these places. In conclusion, less interest and expensive entry passes are the reasons in the reduction of local visitors. The solution to this problem lies in the hands of management authorities of these places.