Research says more and more business training and business meetings are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the phenomenon of remote training and meetings in companies has become increasingly prevalent. While some people argue that online commercial activities offer numerous benefits, others contend that it has several drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on the main advantages and disadvantages of online meetings and training, and present my perspective. To begin with, there are several clear benefits associated with the remote activities that enterprises hold. From employees ' views, remote working is more flexible and comfortable, which enables them to work in various places. Cadence, Synopsys, and some big companies have announced the remote working principles to allow their employees to have online business training and meetings, enabling them to work at home if there is heavy rain outside or any other inconvenient circumstances. Moreover, from the companies’ perspective, international meetings or training are easier to conduct if they’re online, which makes the information exchange much simpler. For instance, Google had launched an international tutoring program within the company, training its employees all over the world from its headquarters in America. Despite these advantages, remote activities also bring about some notable disadvantages. A management problem arises when the training and meetings are taking place online, which requires the employees to be more self-disciplined, or it will be hard to control. For example, workers might not pay that much attention if the meeting is held online, while losing connection is a frequent excuse for not participating seriously in the meeting. In conclusion, while remote training or meetings offer several advantages, such as flexibility for the employees and making the corporation more international, they also have certain disadvantages, like company management. In my opinion, the advantages still outweigh the disadvantages, where the potential benefits are tremendous.