Research into mew types of medicine and treatments are essential for improve health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or governments?

The development of medicine and treatment is an extremely important element affect citizen’s living standard, therefore keeping research new products and methods are necessary. However, those projects cost millions of dollars and people argue that who has to take the price, governments, individuals or private companies? In my opinion, every person and organisation should take a responsibility together in different ways. To begin with, individuals make the contribution through purchasing medicine and treatment services from hospitals and pharmacies, and paying the specific tax to the government. Firstly, companies gain the revenue from consumers, and they set up a percentage of the revenue as a fund to develop new things. Secondly, governments have a similar fund to help the private companies and medical institutions to do the new research. Thus, a part of research funding is from citizen’s medical consumptions and tax payment, they often take the responsibility passively. On the other hand, private companies should take more obligation on the new research, because each successful project brings billions of profit to the investors and developers. For instance, according to a research by GEN, the top 15 medicines sold over 19 billion US dollars during 2018, all participants have gained a huge benefit. Hence, they have to pay more attention to the new research, no matter their purpose is earning more revenue or benefit human beings. In the end, governments have a responsibility to take care their residents’ health, and they collect a large amount of tax from taxpayers and business in the name of health care. For example, Australian tax residents have to pay 2% of their total income for Medicare levy annually. Moreover, governments often invest many medical projects and gain a lot from those investments. So that, there is no doubt, the government should put money into those projects. In conclusion, individuals, enterprises or governments through diverse form to contribute the research of new types of medicine and treatment, such as tax, funding, investment and so on.