Some people assert that it is good for college students to have part-jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite the academic achievement, it is suggested that higher education students develop some soft skills. For this purpose, people encourage college students to experience working life by taking part- time jobs. I certainly agree with this opinion in some conditions. To begin with, there are some benefits that can be achieved when pursuing college and doing part- time jobs at the same time. Firstly, it may help them to develop some skills, including time management. This is because they need to manage their time effectively, select their task priority, and organize their activities. Another advantage is that it enables them to earn their own money which may reduce the financial burden on their families. For example, earning money while studying may benefit the first child of a big family. Furthermore, it allows them to manage their own finances and have financial independence. Albeit advantageous, those benefits are only possible to be reached when they have strong self-regulation, otherwise, they may experience shortcomings. The first potential disadvantage is the decline in their academic performance. It happens because balancing work and study can be challenging and working may consume most of their study time. Next, another drawback is that they may not have time to refresh their mind after tiring days at college and work. Furthermore, it may increase their stress level and suffer from mental illnesses. In summary, there are some reasons to support college students with great self-regulation to work part- time. These reasons include the possibility to improve their management skills and to have financial independence. Without strong self-regulation, they may face shortcomings such as a decline in academic performance and mental sicknesses.