Popular events like football world cup and other international sporting occassions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that famous international sporting competitions like football World Cup are vital in easing the friction between countries, and it gives citizens an opportunity to safely express their emotions. I completely agree with this view because, these kinds of occasions helps to foster international relationships and gives people an opportunity to show how they feel. Sport Occassions at the international level can ease the tension between two countries by giving people the opportunity to learn their cultures and traditions. For example, during the Olympics, travelling fans have to briefly stay in hotels in the host country. They could at this time understand the way of life of the host country. Also, when events like the football World cup are organised, fans of the two football teams have an opportunity to interact with one another in the stadium. This helps to unite countries who had misunderstandings in the past. In addition, during an international sporting event, citizens can freely express their emotions. Usually, at the beginning of most sport events, the national anthem of the countries involved are sung. This is a way of citizen showing their sense of patriotism. Furthermore, during a football match, for example, when a team scores a goal, fans celebrate by screaming and hugging one another. At the same time after a loss, emotions of sadness are freely expressed in a safe way. This show of emotions might not be seen without these events. In conclusion, I believe that sporting occasions like world Football Cup helps not only to ease tensions amongst countries, but also to help citizens express themselves in a harmless way.