Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. What is your opinion?

In the contemporary era, there is a heated argument over the issue that children ought to read only books with educational importance and reading books for relaxation is a waste of time. A lion's share of the society favours it, however the rest goes adverse it. In my opinion, children should not be restricted to read only certain genre of books because both the pastime and educational books serve the purpose of imparting positive skills in children. I see eye to eye, with the central idea for various reasons. First and foremost, Some parents think that children should be motivated to read only educational books and not comics and fiction which are not worth their age. They think so because educational books impart knowledge and information that help children with their studies and future progress. For example, these books provide relevant and real information about incidents happening across the globe which eventually enables children to explore the world through books. Furthermore, I admit that the role of educational books on children’s intellectual growth is crucial and hence, undeniable. On the loggerhead, some critics go against the above discussed assertions. I do not believe that reading short stories, novels or fiction for fun is a waste of time. The stories and the incidents narrated in these books conspicuously improve children’s creativity and imagination. For instance, by reading Spiderman and Superman comics juveniles knows how they help weak people. Moreover, serious facts and events in academic texts can make reading a boring activity for them while entertainment books, kindle their interest, boost their reading skills and thus, transform them into voracious readers in future. Unlike academic texts, which contain a plethora of technical terms and usages, the simple language in story books enables children to grasp the ideas easily. In conclusion, educational books are useful for developing children’s intelligence and study skills, whereas entertainment books help in their overall development. Therefore, I think that reading pastime books should not be considered as a waste of time; rather, they should be given the same importance as other books.