Some people think that way to reduce crimes is long term prisons while others think that there are other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought by many that increase the prison time is the only solution to deter criminals to do crimes while others believe that there are some other ways to tackle this issue, such as an education and more surveillance on criminals. This essay will discuss both views of the statement, however, I believe that an education and the surveillance play significant role in reducing the number of the crimes. There are some reasons behind that why some people think exceeding prison time will decrease the crime rates. First of all, the threat of prison time deters the criminals from convicting crimes. In other words, they always have a fear to go behind the bars for their rest of life. Owing to this, they can think twice or thrice before convicting the offends. In the US, for example, there is a law for the felony crimes, such as murders, kidnapping, rape and many more, to send the criminals behind the bars for over 20 years. Therefore, this helps to decrease the number of offenders. On the other hand, providing good education is an important method to reduce misdemeanours or crimes. This helps them to get good jobs and earn money for their needs, they do not need to do theft or robbery for fulfilling their requirements. To illustrate, studies showed that uneducated people were more likely to involved in illegal activities than educated ones. Apart from this, an increase in the surveillance by using CCTV camera in different parts of the cities to identify the offenders easily. This is also one solution to decrease offences. In conclusion, although an increasing sentence prison are helping to deter the wrong doings by criminals, I personally believe that an education and cameras in the streets of cities more helps to decline crimes.