Why don’t people take environmental issues seriously in spite of being given many warning by scientists? Why don’t people save energy in their daily life? Discuss the possible causes of these phenomena and give possible solutions.

It is true that people do not treat environmental problems seriously, even though scientific research gives us a lot of warnings and they still waste energy in their everyday life. There are several reasons and I am sure governments and the media can help solve these problems. Some people think that it is unrealistic to protect the environment in this year and age, so they prefer just focusing on the current benefits regardless of the problems that will happen in the future. While scientists have found many signs that tell us the environmental issues are becoming worse than before, such as more extreme weather (like famine, drought, hurricane), the melting glacier and so on. But those things only happen in some areas where few people have lived or travelled. They do not believe they can do something good to solve those problems which are not related to their current lives. For example, people who live in the mainland can not take the melting glacier problem seriously because it does not have any effect on their living areas. Because of the reasons mentioned before, local residents do not have the awareness to protect the environment, especially without enough information about the importance of their actions. Due to less awareness campaigns by the government and media, people cannot get much information about how serious those environmental problems are in our lives and what they can do to help protect the environment. For example, electrical energy is used wastefully and the shortage of electricity will be a big problem for our living. But if everyone can turn off the light when leaving the room, it will bring a huge change. I believe that governments and the media can do more things do help people have a better understanding about those environmental problems in our daily life and with more polices and awareness campaigns people can make every effort to improve the environment. For example, governments can increase the tax on driving cars and pose laws on tobacco consumption. The media can make more environmental programs to convey related issues to make sure everyone realise individual's action means a lot. For example, the public service advertisement can show people how to save water and use more renewable energy. In conclusion, it is realistic to convince people realise the importance of environmental problems in our daily life and make every effort to protect the environment with the help of governments and the media.