Some people state that in the period of developed IT, it is normal for teenagers to spend a lot of time on such modern gadgets as smart phones and laptops, while others say that it is a bad habit with negative consequences. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In the modern world we live in nowadays, the development of information technology is a topic of public interest and concern. While it is believed by some individuals that it is increasingly common for the younger generations to spend almost all their time on modern devices such as smartphones and laptops, others are of the opinion that investing a large amount of time in these gadgets would come with serious consequences. Personally, I am more supportive of the latter argument. On the one hand, there are strong arguments in favor of the notion that there is nothing wrong with adolescents spending a significant amount of time on their mobile phones or their computers. To begin with, nowadays, dedicating a lot of time to using modern devices can bring about certain benefits. First of all, thanks to the increasing of information technology, they can develop themself and broaden their horizon by researching and learning many things online. Hence, modern devices are essential items in humans' lives. Additionally, they are able to catch up on all the news in the world with phones or computers. To make a case for this, the war between Iran and the USA is happening, and teenagers should know this situation and prepare themselves beforehand. Therefore, people can notice this issue without smartphones or laptops. On the other hand, there are more convincing reasons to justify the other side of the debate. On top of that, spending too much on technology gadgets will come with serious implications. First and foremost, it will affect their health, especially their eyes. According to BCC news, 80% of young people get short-sighted when they are just 4 or 5 years old, as many parents leave their kids to play games or watch movies on mobile phones for over 180 hours. Furthermore, since they use their phones or their laptops for negative purposes, they perhaps are not able to focus totally on their studies. As a result, they would show poor academic performance. In conclusion, all things considered, it is evident that although the aforementioned arguments are justified to certain extents, it is more reasonable to say that students will have some drawbacks that are unavoidable if they spend their whole time on modern gadgets.