Some people believe that it's appropriate for children to learn foreign languages in primary school. Does the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate about the best time for children to be equipped with foreign languages and some people believe that the optimum time is when they are in primary school. Although there are demerits associated with them acquiring knowledge of non-indigenous languages, I believe it is more beneficial owing to the fact that they absorb information easily at this stage and primary level is the learning acquisition stage for them. Admittedly, a major drawback of young ones learning international languages in elementary school is that a lot of people think children should focus on things in their level first. In other words, they should learn the primary things like colours, shapes, letters and numbers and should not be burdened with the task of learning imported languages. Additionally, little ones may confuse languages if they try to learn their indigenous language and foreign ones at the same time. Nevertheless, there are a lot of benefits which surpasses the drawbacks above and one of them is the fact that youngsters at a tender age absorb information easily. It is no doubt that children are able to learn a lot when they are young as scientists have likened their brains to a sponge meaning that they can absorb anything. Furthermore, the elementary level is the prime stage for learning languages due to the fact it is a learning acquisition stage. For instance, a study carried out in Sweden by The Educationists in 2011, showed that children learn foreign languages better at primary level. In conclusion, although the major disadvantage of youngsters learning external languages in grade school is that they should focus on learning little things that matter, the advantages are too important to be overlooked.