In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food producted locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In the most recent years, the amount of exotic food consumed goes higher and higher in growth in many nations. Indeed, people tend to buy imported food instead of domestic food. There are a number of reasons for this trend and measures could be taken to set to grow for indigenous food. There are several good grounds that have led to the increase of foreign food ’ consumption. One of these is that many consumers believe that imported food is safer than food produced locally. They claim that exotic food are cultivated in better environment which it is unnecessary to use pesticides or chemicals to accelerate crops. Another reason is that imported food has better quality than food which is produced locally. In other words, foreign food is well selected before being exported to a nation and the state would not allow the crates of low quality food be imported. However, the trend explained above would adversely affect people who produce as well as selling domestic food and there are several measures that the local authorities would do to help people in need. The first solution is that the state should make an attempt to put a constraint on the amount of food imported. By this method, the demand for local food could positively thrive by the rarity of foreign food. Another measure is by using one of the redeeming qualities of domestic food is cheap, the authorities could make a sales campaign to help local firms attempt to satisfy their customers’ demands. For example, Fahasa, the biggest bookstore in Vietnam, they make numerous sales every year, but they rarely discount for foreign product, and each time this campaign happened, the amount of Vietnamese books sold was remarkably increased. In conclusion, the fact that the demand for imported food has increased and the reduction of producing food locally is attributable to its safety and its high quality. This can be handled by restricting the amount of food imported and making a sales campaign.