More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Presently in developed countries, the number of overweight children is increasing. This essay will discuss the reasons for this increase and the results of this problem. One's diet goes a long way in determining a person's body weight and health outcomes. Nowadays, junk food has become more popular and readily available in homes. Therefore, young people need a lot of discipline to eat healthy meals. As an illustration, an increase in the amount of calories consumed significantly increases the chances of being overweight. Also, children are no longer interested in exercises rather, they engage in sedentary lifestyle as they eat, read, watch television and play games which in turn reduces the absorption of fat and get deposited under the skin leading to massive weight gain. This trend has many disadvantages ranging from high risk of developing chronic diseases and sudden death due to blockage of blood vessels by fat as in atherosclerosis. For example, comparing the figures in 200, there have been about sixty percent increase in the incidence of childhood hypertension, obesity and diabetes in the United Kingdom in 2019. Again, this increase will lead to more stress on the health facilities in these countries. Hence, developed countries will spend more of their income on health care. For example, there has been a rise in emergencies in children in developed countries in the last decade. In conclusion, a lot of problems are pending for developing countries if appropriate measures are not taken to cut the increasing number of overweight children. This can be done by increasing taxes on these kind of products.