It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punishments are thought to help children distinguish between what is right and what is wrong. In my opinion, that could be partially true in many cases, but in others could lead to emotional problems. Many parents are trying to develop a punishment technique to teach their children that their actions have consequences. If a child in his early days understands that his manners should be cited according to strong morals, ethics, and values, he will perhaps turn up into a well-respected adult who is beneficial to society. In other words, in order to contribute to developing a better nation, effectively raising your children is the main concern. In one hand, Punishments allow children to rethink about their attitude because of either fear or regret which could weaken the child's relationship with his parents. However, if a parent used his power to abuse his child with the wrong punishment this could inevitably cause him an emotional and physical problem. Consequently, other ways could be more effective in enhancing the child's personality as leading by example, in particular, a child's probability of copying his parents’ behaviour is very high in his beginning years, so ensuring that the child is raised in a healthy environment is more significantly encouraging than punishments. In an early age, children shouldn’t be allowed to use all his time in playing, if he made a wrong deed. But to increase his awareness, parents should give him small tasks such as participating in cleaning his room, that way learns him to be more responsible. Also, Educational institution should engage teenagers in teaching younger children, which could seem like a punishment for them, but it is more of a chance to teach them better leadership. Other punishments as silent treatment or physical hitting should not be encouraged as it will only result in more harm to the child ’s well being. Furthermore, decreasing allowance for young adults could push them to take summer jobs which may cut down their free time and prevent them from making mistakes. In conclusion, schools and parents should be more aware of what kind of punishments they are using in order to maintain a close relationship with their child. Doing community work or housework are features of enhancing a child ’s ability to be a better individual.