Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

New age technology has made it convenient for people to download patented songs, and reading material for free from the World Wide Web. It is debatable as it fosters both positive as well as negative developments. The Internet contains a plethora of material. It ranges from music, books, clothes, shoes, etc. Since it is accessible to individuals from across the world, few regulations are in place. For example: On YouTube, citizens around the globe upload videos while Wikipedia has the unauthorized information uploaded for each page. Human beings love the idea of getting commodities for no charge at all. The best way to obtain easy access with no pay is reaching out to the web. For example: A new movie released in theatre will cost a few hundreds to watch, but the same can be viewed at no cost on the Internet. Every human being excessively uses, such advantage. Although artists, and writers creating the content are at a loss when free downloads are taken undue advantage of. They are not given a share of their earnings as piracy is on the rise and no one can be blamed. This particularly creates negativity about sourcing music to millions. Nevertheless, there are channels that allow us to listen to our favourite songs without tampering with legal rights for example: the music app Spotify. In conclusion, downloads of copyrighted material is positive only, if it used to give credit to the author for example: quote from a book used in research with the person being credited.