Should parents be obliged to immunise their children against childhood diseases? Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

The issue of childhood vaccination has gained a lot of attention in the last few years with the increasing voices advocating against it. The question of, whether or not parents should be able to choose to vaccinate their children or whether, it should be compulsory is a complex one. This essay will argue that despite the importance of individual choice, immunisation should be enforced for the greater benefit of society. Firstly, positive effects of vaccination can be seen in all countries, where it was made compulsory. It is because of mandatory vaccination that in these countries, such as England, Australia, and the United States for example, disease like polio and smallpox has been eradicated completely. If parents did not choose to vaccinate their children, these societies would still be afflicted by these diseases. So in the long run, immunising children save lives because it controls the spread of preventable diseases and protect the population. Despite of the above, some people argue that it is an unfair do vaccinate children because they are not old enough to make choices for themselves and it is an infringement of their human rights. However, it is the role of parents to make decisions related to their children's health. Most of vaccines must be administrated in the childhood before, it is too late. Once a disease takes hold and spreads, it could lead to an epidemic in society and this would be national or even global health disaster. Therefore, the parents should be obligated to immunise their children. To conclude, although I believe people should have wills and choice, when it comes to the issue of immunising children, evidence has shown that it is the best way to prevent the spread of disease and save lives. Ultimately, enforcing immunisation is a greater overall decision for hummanity