Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinion has been divided on whether or not economic growth is the most essential target for a country to achieve. While some argue that the economy is the only significant aspect that the authority should pay attention to, I firmly hold that there are several elements to be considered while evaluating the development of a nation. There are some apparent reasons why people might claim that economic progress outweighs other components to be the only fundamental goal for countries. The first to mention is that a growing economy may bring about job creation, thereby the increase in the employment rate and the improvement in the average salaries of employees. Secondly, the economic advance possibly allows the country to consolidate its position in the international arena, concluded political, social and trading influences. Finally, without a sustainable economy, infrastructure and public services may fail to grow utterly since the budget would be too tight for the authority to run advanced methods, especially when the considerable advance in technology affects most aspects of people’s lives, which requires large amounts of money. Despite the preceding arguments, I support the view that various other factors are as crucial as the economic progress when estimating the improvement of a community. An indispensable target that a nation should meet is education, which is widely regarded as the basic standard of humanity. A comprehensive education system will likely enable citizens to get satisfying jobs, which means the state may reduce the unemployment rate and various offences. Moreover, health status is also a vital element in inhabitants’ living standard, in other words, if residents have excellent medical care, they possibly make a valuable contribution towards the improvement of the country. For example, regions enduring severe epidemics such as Ebola and MERS cannot develop as those having great health care systems. In conclusion, economic growth has an important role to play in the development of a country, but I believe that the government should regard various aspects like education or health systems as significant targets to meet.