School and university students learn lessons far better from their teachers than from other sources, such as the Internet and television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that studying from teachers and professors in educational institutions is better than learning online, for instance, using websites and computer. It is agreed that students learn lessons much better from their teachers than from the Internet. This essay will discuss firstly, the face to face tutorial is more effective and secondly, finding a reliable source can present a problem; followed by a reasoned conclusion. In this day and age, the Internet is ubiquitous and everything is available online at the touch of a button including study materials and classroom notes. This over-reliance of people on the web is deemed to have a detrimental effect on an individual as well as the society. Furthermore, students lack interest in schools and colleges because they are more inclined towards the learning resources available on the World Wide Web. Studying in class is more constructive as pupils are free to ask questions about any topic, if they fail to understand it. For instance, if a student gets stuck at any point in a particular problem and does not understand it while studying online, there will be no one to help him. Hence, students should think wisely before missing classes and relying solely on the net. Another point to consider is that, looking for an accurate information on the net is a laborious task. For example, there is a glut of references available related to the subject on the web such as YouTube and Wikipedia, some of them contain irrelevant and false content. Whereas, the instructors in the classes are well trained and have a considerable amount of knowledge about the specific subject they are teaching. Moreover, the teachers in the classrooms have different teaching strategies and methods to solve a particular question. Therefore, parents should motivate their children to focus more in schools as teachers are the best trainers who can adapt themselves according to their student’s needs. In conclusion, despite of a myriad of learning sources provided by the modern technology, nothing can be compared to the teachings of a class teacher. It is recommended that guardians at home should keep a check on their offspring and inspire them to be punctual in schools and colleges.