Many people say that universities should only offer to young students with high marks, others say that they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

One recent debate about Universities admission is whether grade and age restrictions should be taken into consideration. While some people are of the opinion that good grades and early ages should be considered, some believe scholars of all ages irrespective of their scores should be equally considered. This essay will be discussing both views and my own suggestion will be added. On the one hand, tertiary institution should pay more attention and give top admission priority to students with high credentials, who are also younger. This is because youths with high scores have shown that they have what it takes to succeed in their chosen career, having high grades implies that such people are intelligent, hardworking, dedicated and this type of undergrads will give reputation to the higher institutions. For example, some courses like Medicine, Law and Engineering requires a plethora of commitment to reading and studying hard and student with a history of high marks will likely excel more in this field. Considering scores and age in undergraduate admission is beneficial to both the school and the scholars. On the other hand, higher educations should not be limited by good transcript and how old the freshers are. The right to be educated should be given to all, irrespective of their backgrounds, many did not have good score reports not because they were lazy or dull but because of some circumstances beyond their control. For examples, some people are not privileged to have a parent to pay their tuition fees, so they have to work and study at the same time, studying and working both drains time and energy, and this makes it difficult for them to get good grades. Restricting School recruitment to some set of people will be unfair and other talented people who were not lucky to get high grades will be discouraged to further their studies. In conclusion, several Tertiary Institutes have different criteria for accepting student to continue their studies. I am of the opinion that limiting school acceptance to some set of people is uncalled for, as this will discourage many children from studying and it will later have an effect on the country's literacy as well as economy.