In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, there has been a growing recognition in the proportion of the people migrating in the urban areas, leading to the population of the countryside plummeting incredibly. While I agree that moving to cities is a positive aspect there will also be some drawbacks. On the one hand, one evident benefit of migrating to big cities is the development of professional and personal life. Large cities can offer various opportunities regarding careers but also on personal plans. In today’s world, the biggest companies with the best pay-checks operate in urban areas, leading to the requirement of several employees. For instance, London is the largest city in Europe with the biggest rate of immigrants because it offers several workplaces in different fields and various activities which people can enjoy doing. Thus, the rate of the number of pupils migrating from the countryside will soar due to better salaries and quality of life. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to increasing the number of people moving to cities from the countryside. Firstly, if each rural person moves one by one, there will be a moment when that village will probably disappear. A good example would be Russia which loses almost two villages annually because villagers tend to move to big cities such as Moscow which can offer them better opportunities. Secondly, with so many migrants, cities will be overcrowded and the air and noise pollution will rise dramatically, leading to a potential disaster. In conclusion, although the movement of people into the cities can lead to both positive and negative aspects, the advantages of this statement outweigh the disadvantages.