Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Universities these days offer a plethora of courses for the students to choose from. Although some believe that they should have the freedom to choose any field in a degree, others strongly advocate that a freshman must only undergo subjects that are practical for the future. The ability to choose a course by the student offers several advantages.In order for them to excel at what they're passionate about, students should have the privilege to select their course of interest, For example, if a student gravitates towards arts and history, he studying maths and science will eventually be futile, Because subjects which offer no meaningful value to the pupils will only lead to them squandering their money and time. Though the above method does yield success, It only works for people who are predetermined about what career to pursue in the future but teenagers who have no clue about which profession to pick, having a standardized subject will help them to branch out and change occupation as they desire, also it gives them a new perspective in various fields of study, For example, if a person selects commerce and maths as compulsory subjects, he or she will have the opportunity to dwell in not only economics related field but also scientific fields where maths plays a prominent role In conclusion, even though the liberty to choose subjects by the students to the core level works, provided that students have a strong mind, Thus allowing students to study required courses not only help them in future if they wish to change streams but also helps in having a broader mindset.I believe the goverment should introduce campaigns to popularize these courses to give required exposure to the forthcoming students