Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend you you agree or disagree with this statement.

Nowadays, there has been a trend in which people tend to go abroad to study and work. As a result, they must speak a foreign language. Some people argue that speaking a language other than a person's mother tongue may lead to some worth-considering social problems as well as practical problems. I agree with this statement. One of the most significant difficulties of immigrants living overseas is language barriers. If a person is incapable of speaking the widely-used language in a country, he is likely to face troubles immersing himself in the new environment. He may find himself helpless and unable to deal with simple daily activities such as talking with neighbors a person who lives (or is located) near another neighbours, going shopping, contacting banks, and local governments. Besides, the lack of foreign language ability may result in misunderstanding or even cultural conflicts which may marginalize him from the local society. Even worse, some people even violate local regulations because of their illiteracy; they cannot read and understand the regulations to follow the rules. Also, poor verbal and written communication in foreign languages may be the leading cause of the high rate of unemployment among immigrants. A vast majority of immigrants cannot apply for high-paid decent jobs since most of these jobs require language competence. Also, illiteracy and language misunderstanding may lead to mental health problems such as stress and depression. Therefore, language plays a crucial part in enabling a person to integrate into a new environment. In conclusion, to adapt to the new environment well, immigrants should be able to communicate well in the language spoken in their localities. Lack of foreign language ability may cause multiple troubles to any person living in a foreign country. Therefore, before deciding to relocate to a foreign country, people should learn the language beforehand.