Money should be spent on creating new public buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some quarters, it is said that raising a new structure on a virgin land is a better option rather than spending allocated funds to refurbish existing monuments or halls. This essay will discuss why existing public structures should be maintained rather than build new ones. Firstly, existing museums or halls are places of history, which has preserved our culture for hundreds of years and one which serves as a point of reference. The continuous maintenance of these public buildings, our cultural heritage is preserved. For example, the famous cathedral church in France was totally burnt, but instead of building it in a new location, it was decided that the building be rebuilt on the same land in order to maintain history. Secondly, in these buildings are located precious items such as paintings, books, etc. Which are items that shouldn't be lost in transit either deliberately through theft or unforeseen circumstances. By building new museum, the movement of these items will be required and some may be lost in transit. A look at what happened in Britain is an example where Queen Elizabeth's father's writings were lost in transit, only to be found in a village in East Germany. Thirdly, tourism is boosted because of these historical places which people have read about on the internet and the pages of newspapers. By building new ones, history will be erased, cultural heritage destroyed and no place for holiday goers to visit. In conclusion, it's advisable to continue to maintain and guild public places where history is kept as this will continue to attract tourists who want to visit for the purpose of seeing the old building rather than build new ones which tourists won't be interested because it has no history.