In many parts of the world families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being part of a big family in past ?

Past century, family size has decreased significantly and families are smaller now. I can say that there were some benefits of living in a big family, but I think there were serious drawbacks. I believe there were 2 main benefits, Firstly, kids had brothers and sisters which they could support each other. If kids had any problems in their life they could always find a place to turn to; their home. Secondly, at the past children helped their family by working in the house or working out of the house because big-sized family expenses were too much. I think such families did more harm to their children, Firstly, parents could not give so much attention to all of their children. Secondly, financial issues could affect big families, for example, education costs were for all children and parents could not afford that. In summary, the positive about being a part of a large family is less than its negatives as we consider factors of living expenses or education.