BY PUNISHING MURDERERS WITH THE DEATH PENALTY, SOCIETY IS ALSO GUILTY OF COMMITTING MURDER. THEREFORE LIFE IN PRISON IS BETTER PUNISHMENT FOR MURDERERS. TO WHAT EXTENT SO YOU AGREE OF DISAGREE.

The pronouncement of the death penalty on people who intentionally end the life of another citizen by any society amounts to a guilt of the same crime. It is, therefore, believed that instead of making people pay with their lives, they could be sent to prison all their lives. While I agree that serving jail terms is the best punishment in the sense that it helps prune the behaviour of the offender, I disagree that any society becomes guilty for carrying out their civic responsibilities. Every communion, through its leaders and appropriate agencies, is charged with the responsibility of law enforcement. Making sure there is equal rights and justice for everyone reassures every citizen in a state of their safety. If there is no commensurate punishment for bad behaviour, people will leverage on the porous nature of the law to commit frequent crimes. The government of Lagos State is a good example. On several occasions, they have been on the watch to ensure proper safety of lives - through law enforcement agencies, who escalate any activity that is classified as a felony to appropriate quarters. Subsequently, such people are prosecuted and given a punishment that equates their crime. This makes the city a peaceful one. Remand in custody could help make a better person out of any criminal. Rehabilitation programs, which avail inmates the opportunity to learn different skills that would make them responsible, might become effective while serving a jail term. For instance, prisoners in Kiri Kiri, Nigeria's largest prison, are pushed into learning different skills. After achieving this, they are sometimes granted freedom - especially when distinguished by what they had learned. They return to the society reformed and ready to give back through good services. In conclusion, societies should not be seen as guilty for performing their roles, but if they consider imprisonment as the best way to punish offenders, it would not be a bad method because a criminal today might become more meaningful through it.