Public celebrations (festivals, national day) are held in some countries. Some people think that they are very expensive and the government should spend money on some other important issues. Do you agree or disagree?

It is well known that the government incurs a lot of expenditure on celebrating various festivals, both national and cultural in a few nations. Hence, some believe that it should spend this cost on other pressing issues. I strongly agree with this and I elaborate on this in the ensuing paragraphs. On one hand, the main benefit of government encouraging celebrations is to preserve the culture and tradition of the land, which could be lost and forgotten if not reminded. Additionally, it fosters patriotism in the youngsters by reminding them of the national struggle. For instance, Indian Independence day, which is celebrated on the 15th of August, reminds us of the freedom fighters and the dramatic change in the country since then. Furthermore, public gatherings at these events allow everyone to socialize because they bring and bond many people of different classes and societies together. In stark contrast, the major disadvantage of the festive arrangements is that a huge amount of funds are dedicated to them despite the poor suffering. Secondly, it is understood that these events account to improve neither the status of the low-income groups nor the health condition of ill people. To explain with an example, in developing countries, there are many suffering from chronic diseases and illnesses while many are severely poor, who cannot afford to participate in them, therefore is less impacting them. Thirdly, recognizing the festivals of only majorities in a multi-cultural nation can enrage the minorities. To conclude, public celebrations demand huge funds. I think it should spend the amount on other activities that can directly improve the deprived than on festivals.