In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want on/ine without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some believe that in the future, people will not purchase printed newspapers or books due to the ability to read the free ones. I agree with the statement about no one purchasing printed editions but I totally do not agree about the reason given. Nowadays, people are interested in reading many digital versions of newspapers or books more than printed ones. This happens because the digital versions are easy to get and bring anywhere and anytime rather than the printed ones. For instance, by having a digital version, people can save it on their Kindle or smartphone so that they can read the book anywhere and anytime. Consequently, the trend of reading a printed version is going to decrease year by year. On the other hand, although the digital versions are available on the Internet, people still need to pay to have them. For example, if people want to consume a daily digital newspaper, they should pay for a subscription. The price of digital sources is more likely cheaper than purchasing the printed versions but they still have to pay given that the publishers gain the revenue to hire the editors, writers, and all of the employees from the purchasing cost. Thus, it is wrong if people can get them for free. In conclusion, I totally believe that in the future many people will not purchase any printed newspaper or book due to the availability and flexibility of the digital version. However, they still have to pay for the digital newspaper or book.