Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self employed.

These days, several persons prefer being entrepreneurs rather than working for a company or organization. This essay will discuss the cause and also the drawback of being self employed. To begin with, people become self employed due to the rate of unemployment. Individuals who desire to work for firms find it difficult to get job placement, where they admire due to the competition involved in the labour market or as a result of qualifications barrier, thus, they are faced with the choice of creating jobs for themselves. For instance, a graduate of engineering without a job can decide to start-up a poultry farm rather than staying idle. Also, flexible work schedule promotes entrepreneurship because people would have time to plan their activities and decide what time to fix appointment with clients. To illustrate, a make up artist can choose how many clients she wants per day and when to commence a makeup session. Therefore, self-employment is influenced by unemployment and flexible schedule. However, distraction is a demerit of startups. This is so is because entrepreneurs can be faced with other demanding activities other than their daily target. For instance, a baker who works from home, may be unable to meet up daily goals, due to disturbance either from the call bell, family members or need to attend to house chores. Thus, it is seen that working from home has several distractions which acts as a drawback to entrepreneurship. In conclusion, although unemployment and flexibility are causes of self employment, a major drawback can be seen to be distractions.