Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In some cities, there are vehicle-free occasions in which the employment of private motor vehicles is prohibited. However, people are recommended to commute by public transportation like buses, taxis and subways. In this essay, I will examine both the downsides and upsides of this policy and at last, I will express my opinion. Because the engines of vehicles consume fossil fuels like petrol or diesel, some days, we witness that the indicators of air quality present high values of pollution. This issue can endanger the health of citizens and increase the costs of the health sector. Adopting the policies can reduce the emissions and alleviate the gravity of the situation. Furthermore, the use of public transportation can reduce traffic jams, and accelerate city trips. Meanwhile, individuals can spare their time and do their favourite activities. For example, they can play games, read books or even watch a movie. On the other hand, making people use public transportation can lead to several problems for citizens and handicaps in particular unless there are enough public transport facilities for easy and convenient commute. Moreover, for some senior citizens residing in the city centre, it would be tough to use public transportation. Their physical status and strength do not allow them to easily reach either bus or subway stations. In this respect, It would be better to adopt some exceptions for the elderly. To conclude the aforementioned material, I would assert that adopting these policies can be useful and the merits can outweigh the demerits. However, a comprehensive approach should be taken to minimize the associated problems for the city centre and its residents. At the same time, It would be better to have a holistic perspective and design long-term solutions.