Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

Computer technologies have changed the way people live over the recent years. It is not unlikely that not only a number of adult people will work from home, but also many children will study from home because computer technology is getting cheaper and become more accessible around the world. In my opinion, this new trend is a negative development which can lead to the lower level of productivity as well as isolation. First of all, one serious problem that can arise from adults working at home is that it can lead to decrease the productivity of working adults. The reason is that people, who work from their home, can be easily distracted by home atmosphere, which is less formal. For example, if adults employed have a child, they would not perform well in the home environment due to the parental care for the child. Thus, it is likely that parental roles can lower their productivity. Another issue is that learning at home for children rather than at school is not useful for their development. The main reason is that the school environment can play an important role in the socialization of children. For instance, unless classes are taught at school, children make hardly friends. In other words, the school environment helps children make friends, and socialize them. Thus, the distance education is not beneficial for the socialization of pupils. In conclusion, computer technologies are changing the nature of working as well as the basic education. In my opinion, distance-working and distance learning is a negative development because it will likely result in the decrease in the level of productivity, and also prevent children from making new friends.