In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own food and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some public parks in urban areas are being transformed into gardens that allow local citizens to grow food and vegetables. In this essay, I will explain why I believe that the drawbacks of this policy outweigh its benefits. It is widely accepted that public parks provide people with practical functions. First of all, park is an ideal place for children to do outdoor activities with their friends or family members, which strengthens their relationships and enhances their physical health. In addition, older adults can gain comfort from the natural beauty after finishing their busy work every day. As for elderly people, they can enjoy leisure time sitting on the park bench alone, with a cup of coffee and snacks in their hands. On the other hand, although gardens have some positive effects like saving residents' money for buying groceries, they pose threats to the environment when growing foods in my opinion. One major concern is the risk of producing excessive sewage, as citizens typically are not willing to upgrade their filter equipment which costs a great amount of money. Moreover, planting vegetables tends to arise bugs and bacteria, both of which lead to sickness in children, adolescents, and elders. In conclusion, despite the fact that replacing gardens with public parks saves spending on daily groceries for residents, it causes damage to the environment. In contrast, the existence of public parks is beneficial to people regardless of their age, so I strongly believe the disadvantages of the transformation of gardens outweigh its advantages.