Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that we space programmers should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Modern humanity aims to explore everything that surrounds it, like, the void stretch. Owing to the up-to-date technology and scientific advancements, mankind has greater opportunity to explore the boundless space. This makes us beg the question: do people really need cosmos exploration rather than resolving actual "Earth's problems"? While there are others who deem that engineers should pursue exploring the field, irrespective of the expense involved. To begin with, large amount of money is being spent researching the cosmos and its mysteries like the endless galaxies, black holes and far-away planets. It provides an understanding of the possibilities outside our home planet. Besides, it also assists in identifying potential threats and life sustainability on other globes of the universe. To exemplify, recently the prominent space research centre, NASA, deflected an incoming asteroid that posed a massive threat to our Earth. Similarly, these studies raise awareness of other threats, as well as, to see if life can sustain outside our planet in the event of a calamity. Hence, although expensive these explorations contribute largely to the safety of mankind. On a contrary, these explorations are not always advantageous; often recreational, or an immediate necessity unless there is a situation that needs researchers' attention. Clearly, huge money is spent on such activities which come from the national funds. It is an investment made by the citizens worldwide for development of their individual countries or to aid poor provinces. Additionally, are social and environmental issues, like unemployment and pollution. To illustrate, global warming has become a growing concern worldwide, and at present there is no definite resolution to this. These pressing problems deserve greater emphasis and mitigation plans, which apparently requires much financing. Thus, space programs should not be exceeded at the expense of the problems faced by earthlings. In summary, though some argue that the benefits of exploring the cosmos are many; however, it should not be continued beyond a necessity. Because there are other matters that need much consideration and economic support.