In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many cultures, children are taught to work hard in order to achieve something in life. While the message has some advantages, disadvantages should be taken into consideration. This essay aims to outline the pros and cons of this practice. On the one hand, repeatedly reminding a child to maintain hard work can boost his motivation. The young should know that things don’t come to them easily and that they must accomplish good work to get to their goal. As a consequence, a person will gain motivation to work harder and harder. To illustrate, my elder brother who finished his bachelor's and master's in one of Hong Kong’s best universities couldn’t have done it If my parents didn’t teach him the importance of hard work. On the other hand, a child can take these messages in a wrong way or too direct. In other words, by hearing these kinds of words from adults, the chances of taking every single work too seriously and complicated are highly possible. Simple summative assessment can be overtaken by children which can further lead to stress, anxiety, and frustration. For instance, the majority of A+ students are constantly told to struggle with every subject in school, therefore they tend to self-blame. In conclusion, while this case has advantages, we should not forget about its disadvantages either. Smart work is always better than hard work, and that is why people should stop pressing kids to do hard work.