Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening? And what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Over the years, it has been observed around the world that many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment and several reasons have been adduced to this development. Many people go back to crime after serving the punishment of the first offence because correctional measures were not integrated into the initial punishment, the offenders are not remorseful and see nothing wrong in committing further crimes. Similarly, offenders are usually not being productively engaged after undergoing necessary disciplinary measure for the crime they initially committed, this may lead to the propensity to go back to crime. Actually, an idle hand is the devil's workshop. Moreover, the society usually discriminates against this set of people even if they have turned a new leaf. The criminals feel rejected and isolated by the society and not given avenues to express themselves. This may force repentant criminals to re-embrace criminality as that is an avenue through which they can express themselves. For criminals to be prevented from going back to a life of crime, correctional measures must be part of their punishment so they can become better persons after go through the process. Also, people must not discriminate against repentant criminals in order to facilitate their full integration into a crime -free life. Job opportunities must be made available to them so they can be fully engaged and earn a living through legitimate means. This will also give them the opportunity to contribute positively to the society. In conclusion, criminality and other related vices will be greatly reduced if effective measures are put in place to prevent offenders who have been sanctioned in the past from going back to commit more crimes.