Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

People have advanced opinions that rather than putting prisoners permanently behind bars, they should be made to do free community work. To them, certain categories of offenders will be valuable to their neighbourhood through community service instead of locking them up in jail. Moreover, they believe that through adequate trainings and supervisions, these criminals can contribute in no small measure towards the revamping of public infrastructure in transportation with government contractors. This will also lead to cost reduction since their services do not attract payment. Personally, I am of the opinion that those being kept in person can make valuable contributions to the society if they are given necessary environment and opportunities to express themselves. Instead of rendering them redundant by keeping them perpetually in prisons, they should be availed appropriate trainings based on the need of their immediate environment areas. This type of education will make them be useful to the society. After the completion of such trainings, they should be assigned tasks to carry out in the society without being paid under the monitoring of correctional officials. Similarly, good conduct and service to humanity can be instilled in the prisoners through their interactions with the outside world and their various interventions through community works. Finally, I greatly align with the view because the people behind bars are being fed and taken care of by government through tax payers money. They should be made to contribute their quota to the commonwealth for the good of all.