Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teaching young people about literature and past events has been a controversial topic. Several people consider that students should have knowledge about their country’s literature and history instead of others’, whereas others oppose it. From my perspective, although I agree with this, there are also advantages of the opposing view to consider as well, and the reasons for my opinion will be outlined in the following essay. With regard to studying national written works and events in the past, there are plenty of favourable points. The first and most significant one is adolescents are able to understand the content much easier due to the cultures and society they have, which are quite similar to the old times or in the books. With more specificity, in contrast, if the authors mention anything about things that occur in foreign countries, students may require to do extra research which results in a waste of valuable time. Not only this, but they might also have opportunities to receive various advice from their parents because they might have knowledge as a consequence of learning the same history books or read those works of literature before, which would be highly beneficial to students. As a result, their learning might become more effective, which will probably, in turn, augment their grades. Moving to, teaching teenagers the literature and history of other regions, I believe there are fewer benefits in comparison. One of the noticeable ones is youngsters might gain more foreign friends as a consequence of knowing their past incidents or the same writings: namely, novels, poetries and fictions. Moreover, both of them may then share each other interests or beliefs, leading to better relationships between two nations. Furthermore, children can be more omniscient because studying about other countries might lead them to the real world, not just like a frog under a coconut shell. Additionally, they might recognize that their own country is not everything and not all countries are having identical chronicles. They might know about how prosperous countries develop their society and use that knowledge as a guideline purposely to enhance the country they are residing in. In conclusion, it would be more advantageous for children to be knowledgeable about their own country. If the school course managers include related subjects of literature and history of their national land in the curriculum, it will improve the quality of learning, as well as students’ scores. Subsequently, the government and education institutions should collaborate together to make an advancement in the syllabus.