Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Ways to enhance health in public has been a controversial topic. Although it is believed by several people that building more sports facilities is the most ideal way to make the health of people in the community better, whereas, others consider that it is ineffective and that other methods are needed. From my perspective, while I agree that increasing sports conveniences has many effects on public health, I, in the meantime, think that there are other ways that are required simultaneously with it, and the reasons for my opinion and further information about it will be outlined in the following essay. With regard to athletic facilities, there are plenty of favourable aspects. People residing in the region with many places for doing sports: namely, sports centres, swimming pools and parks are able to improve their fitness due to the augmentation in their opportunities to exercise. Not only this, but poor people can also have a chance to do physical activity, which might result in becoming more fit, which will probably, in turn, prevent them from having diseases, as a consequence of better immunity. With no doubt, participating in physical activities are obviously beneficial to people’s strength either physically or mentally because it has been proven that people who play sports regularly are more likely to be fitter, in comparison to who is not. Hence, we can clearly see why some people are of the view that having more sports facilities is the best way to make an advancement in public health. Nevertheless, even though doing a physical activity can effectively develop the population’s healthiness, however, I believe that other measures need to be followed as well, creating an exceptional result. There are various significant ways to lift residents’ physical wellness. The first and most noticeable one is having a balanced diet, meaning that people should eat nutritious food and avoid eatable that contains a lot of fat or sugar, which may result in plenty of diseases, diabetes, obesity and high blood pressure, for instance. Furthermore, they should be aware that the amount of food supplied to the body is not too much, hence they should not add extra calories or over-consumed. Another practical method is to set up more medical facilities such as clinics and hospitals, leading to a reduction in mortality rate because sick people, both men and women, can access health care easier and spend less for the medical fee. In conclusion, I consider that having more sports facilities in the society alone is not sufficient. If people do a physical activity together with sticking to a healthy diet, it will lead to the best outcome. Subsequently, the government should construct more places for playing sports, as well as health centres, and influence people eat healthy food.