In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is a predominant notion that individuals should be allowed to work at any age. Therefore, in some countries, it is illegal to stop recruiting aged people. In my opinion, it is a positive practice, and other nations may need to follow the same policy. To begin with, recruiters must check one’s experiences and knowledge rather than their age. Some careers, such as leadership and consultancy, are not limited to age and can be handled / pursued by older adults. This is because these jobs do not require physical abilities, and depend entirely on a person’s knowledge, experience and expertise. This usually comes with years of practice; thus, their knowledge is their main asset and makes them more competent than others. In addition, their skills are not limited to work-related matters, older people are more mature, and their experience allows them to act more effectively in hard times. To illustrate, they often have good crisis and anger management skills. This is beneficial for the companies because having employees who can help them in critical situations without panicking is a significant bonus. Moreover, companies can rehire retired employees for lower wages than younger ones. This will help companies gain the benefit of having an experienced workforce on a lower budget. For example, a project manager who is retired may be willing to work for seventy percent of the salary of a new joiner. Also, employers will save them time and money, which is required to train a new employee. Furthermore, being rehired will give a purpose of life to elderly people. It will be hard for a person who has been working for thirty years and above to sit at home without any goal. If elderly people feel they are rejected by society, they might go through a depression. In conclusion, it is true that some jobs have age restrictions, as they might need physical power and health, but in my opinion, there are plenty of jobs that can be done by aged people. They can become a beneficial workforce, as they will allow companies to have experienced employees while saving costs.