Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Letters have become increasingly unpopular nowadays. As a result of the advancements in technology, they have been substituted by new forms of communication. This essay will argue why letters are now moderately unnecessary. In the previous decades, sending letters was the only method of communication. Surprisingly, few people still use them until now, despite the new technological devices. They justifiably use these written notes for special occasions such as weddings and birthdays. Although this might sound outdated, such notes are highly valuable and special unlike electronic messages. Not only are the letters needed for celebrations, but they are also used if a written record is needed unlike phone calls. Even though modern communications are way easier, letters can still appeal to some people. Despite the minor claims that letters are still necessary, it is true that we rarely find them helpful in our daily life. For instance, in case of an emergency, it is absolutely preferred to pick up the phone or text the needed person rather than writing them a letter and sending it. In other words, electronic devices are more convenient and practical in our busy life. Additionally, due to globalization, businesses and individuals trade everything globally, which proves that letters are totally unsuitable for today’s lifestyle. Finally, the fact that modern methods provide immediate response is crucial especially for business. These advantages along with others have resulted in the significant decline in the use of letters. In conclusion, it is no doubt that written notes are a sweet gesture which can be used to congratulate someone, but as previously mentioned in this essay; it is impractical to send letters in order to communicate daily.