More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The contemporary world is surrounded by endless brands of nearly everything, naming from cars to clothing and many other items. This phenomenon has led to an increase in desire amongst an increasing number of people, to acquire famous items reflecting popular brands. I am inclined to firmly concur with this assertion, yet it in my opinion, this is a negative inculcation in the society. This essay will enclose the plausible reasons for this changing behaviour of the consumers; also will provide some convincing ideas for this negative development in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with the argument, it is irrefutable to say that our purchasing patterns are formed by advertising and social norms. This is quite evident owing to the fact that branded products reflect a higher social status. For this said reason, people make every effort to attain items indicating higher wealth. For instance, keeping a Lamborghini is not everybody's cup of tea because it incurs an extremely high cost. As a result, it is presumed that a person having such a car would be rich enough to own such a vehicle. Furthermore, famous celebrities advocating the brands influence the buying patterns of consumers. This consequently leads us to purchase goods that we often do not actually need. In my opinion, this is undoubtedly a negative development. The reason for my opinion is that maintaining a social status or an influenced purchase mostly compels the person to spend extravagantly. This ultimately affects the social attitudes of people and adversely affects society as a whole. To conclude the aforementioned, I am predisposed to argue that people often lavishly spend on brands and lead the ostentatious lifestyle. However, its negative impacts cannot be neglected and must be considered wholeheartedly.