Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Crimes are something that cannot be avoided wherever you are. It all comes from many different reasons and it always make people feel insecure about their community and environment. So, to make a better living place for their people, government comes up with a number of different rules that dealing with crime, one of them are death penalty especially for a violent crime. It has a number of different pros and cons, and in this essay I want to address some of them. First, one of the primary reasons why those punishments can be so effective are because it will give a direct and huge impact for the person that commits the crime, and also for the next potential offender. Generally speaking, most people are afraid of death, so this kind of penalty will be a big warning for the next criminal and hopefully will suppress their will. It also gives a bold statement that government are not playing around with this kind of action. The next criminal will have to think twice, thrice, or even more before making their action. However, they are strongly opposed by some group of people because it clearly violates the human rights. Life is not something that can be taken that easily. The other consideration is the fact that people can change or be changed. In the case that the person who commits the crime regretting their action, and feel very sorry for what has happened, that person actually do not deserve that death penalty. To sum up, this sentence is very effective in preventing the next potential crime, but also have a huge trade off in term of upholding the human rights. In the end, it depends on how the government of one country wants to prioritize.