Some people think that sharing information freely will benefit in scientific research, business and academic world. However, others think some information is too important or too valuable to be shared. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Some information requires a careful handling as the misuse of sensitive data can negatively impact on individuals. While some people believe that sharing information without a restriction benefits the advancement in various fields such as science, business and education, others concern of such practice as some information is highly important and valuable. This essay will discuss both views and explain the reasons why I think the access to information should be regulated. There are some potential advantages of sharing information. Firstly, it can reduce the budget and time of research. For example, the cost of clinical research is extremely expensive and time consuming in general. However, if the result of research is shared between organisations across the world, not only it saves time and expense of an experiment, but also it stimulates innovation and growth within the field. Secondly, it benefits the whole society by providing latest knowledge and skills. Thus, having access to the latest resource is time and cost efficient, while advocating the development of the specific field. On the other hand, some data may contain sensitive data such as social and medical status of an individual. If the personal data was accessed by a third party who intend to use it for their own interest, the individual may sacrifice from fraud or disadvantages in social life. For instance, a bank or an insurance company may obtain to the personal information of an individual, and take advantage of the data to make a profit by not allowing the person to claim benefits, unless otherwise accessible. Hence, not everyone should be able to reach valuable data to protect individuals. To conclude, while the free access to information possibly contributes to saving hours and cost, as well as stimulating development in the specific field, some regulations are required to protect sensitive information from an external party with a harmful intention.