With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increase in population has put a stress on existing resources of oil and gas. Due to this, some argue that undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up for accessing more resources. In this write up, I will present to what extent I concur with the aforementioned thought and express my reservations about the same. The world population is close to 7 billion and growing at a very fast rate. In addition to this, even in countries where population explosion has moderated, the demand for energy shows no signs of reduction. Ironically, in certain advanced countries the consumption of non-renewable sources has only gone up due to the lifestyle changes over the decades. On the other hand, developing economies with demographic surpluses are deficient in basic infrastructure such as electricity, transportation and cooking gas amongst others. In such a scenario, to provide for necessities of the growing populace, nations have to undertake explorations in areas such as polar regions of the Arctic and Antarctic, sea beds, Equatorial Forests, which have so far been less discovered. This will reduce the strain on current resources which are already dwindling and might soon cease to exist. One must also, however, keep in mind that such rapacious exploitation of nature will only add to the problem of global warming and climate change. It's essential that instead of relying on traditional sources like fossil fuels, humanity should increasingly use cleaner technologies such as Solar power or Wind. Ecosystems such as Boreal Forests, Polar areas and others are the key to maintain the ecological balance of this planet. To disturb their natural ecosystems for fossil explorations would lead to their collapse which could be catastrophic. Scientists have repeatedly pointed out that irreversible damages would be caused if keystone species such as bees go extinct. To conclude, i refers to the speaker or writer I think it will be beneficial if we try to diversify our energy basket with renewable sources to cope up for the lack of energy resources and only after we have exhausted other options should we try to explore and exploit the undiscovered areas of the world.