Formal examination have become the most common way of assessing a student's performance. Is it a positive or negative development, in your view?

For many decades, written exams are considered to be an essential part of the education system. It has been generally seen that, exams play a paramount role in not only determining student’s career path, but also their intellectual level. This essay will discuss why I firmly believe that formal examinations is advantageous for students. Most schools and universities require minimum grades to allow student’s to upgrade to the next class or module. They follow this practice because it shows the hard and dedication of an individual enrolled in the course. If there is no points based system to clear the subject, then students may not take their education seriously. In the United Kingdom, for Instance, it is mandatory for every student to clear each term exam in order to sit for the next term. This method often maintains the discipline of the student so that he or she stay focused on their future goals. Therefore, such examinations are used as a best method to assess student’s ability throughout the year. Another compelling reason is various job opportunities which can be successfully achieved through formal tests. Often global companies follow the general criteria of shortlisting the suitable candidates for their organisation according to the marks. Moreover, such examination also helps in obtaining refuted government jobs. In India, for instance, a formal examination is conducted yearly to hire individuals for a particular job sector. Hence, this type of examination develops the feeling of healthy competition between peers to drive towards their goals. In conclusion, traditional examination not only builds the intellectual mind of an individual, but also urges them to work hard for their ambitions. I strongly believe that, there are numerous benefits of formal examinations, especially for competitive exams.