write about advantage and disadvantage of CCTV cameras

Technology is a double edged sword. While innovation and upgrades can make our lives easier, they can be even used to cause trouble. Although most of us reap the benefits of technology, some with the vested interest are able to cause trouble for the rest of us. The Security system is one such modern technology which has proved to be a boon for 90% of the population of combating crimes. However, just like every other technology, it comes with its own disadvantages. The biggest advantage with closed-circuit television is that they provide a sense of security to people. Even more the mischief makers try to be their best, because they can see an eye watching them and they are aware that they might be caught red-handed. In addition, CCTV cameras enable us to tab any suspicious activity that helps in stopping the crime before happening. The other great benefit of using CCTV cameras is that they create a room for gathering evidences. For example -: You have a witness of a particular crime, but it so happens that they themselves missed out on some details. A CCTV camera ensures you don’t miss on anything. On the negative side of the coin, CCTV cameras pose a great threat to the privacy of an individual. Even more, it creates a sense of a suspect in the minds of people. For example -: an employee may feel as if his/her employer does not trust him/her enough to let him/her work independently off the camera. Moreover, a camera is a costly thing to install. Apart from installing, they require proper time to time maintenance. Another issue with CCTV cameras is that they are quite vulnerable. For example -: a tech savvy thief with knowledge about the camera might close it when required or in worst cases the camera may be hacked. To sum up, just like a knife can be used to cut a vegetable or do a murder, monitors have both advantages and disadvantages. It is upon us as to how we use it.