International travel is becoming cheaper and more countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. Do the advantages of increasing tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

International tourism has gained a growing popularity in recent years. Travelling around the world is becoming more affordable and some countries allow a number of tourists to visit their countries. While this trend has some advantages, including financial and cultural, there are also a few of the disadvantages in associated with environmental problems. On the one hand, international tourism is advantageous in many countries. Today, many countries, including developing and underdeveloped countries, improve their economy thanks to international visitors. For example, some countries in Africa such as Namibia, Mali and Uganda, are considerably dependent on the income of tourism. Moreover, international tourism provides plenty of job opportunities in local communities, which, in turn, boosts their economies. For example, Antalya, which is the most popular touristic destination in Turkey, has become a popular city for young people in the search of jobs over the last years. Without international travellers, which is the main driver of the local economy, local businesses run in Antalya would bankrupt and many people would move to other cities due to the lack of employment. Therefore, it should not be neglected the advantages of the increase in international tourism. On the other hand, the fact that global tourism has a few of drawbacks should not be ignored. Tourism activities around the globe are threatening the environment. To illustrate, international flights cause air pollution. Additionally, carbon dioxide emissions, which caused by international flights, contribute climate change. However, according to Greenpeace, air planes only account for 10% of carbon dioxide emissions on the planet. Another issue is that international travellers, sometimes, may harm the natural beauty of the destinations visited. For example, tonnes of disposable items thrown away by foreign tourists were collected in Everest only last year. Thus, international tourism may become a threat to the environment. In conclusion, the number of international travellers has increased recently due to the affordability of travelling around the world, and many countries welcome those travellers. In my opinion, the advantages of this trend overshadows the disadvantages of it.