More and more people nowadays are buying fashionable clothes. Does it have a more negative or positive effects? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your experience.

There is no denying the fact that the sales of the fashionable clothes have risen dramatically in the last few years. The positive side of this trend is eclipsed by its negative aspects. This essay will analyse both the aspects in the following paragraphs. It is argued that wearing branded clothes enhances the self confidence of an individual. This notion was championed by a survey done by a leading magazine. According to it, people who wore fashionable clothes on the day of the interview did better than those who wore regular attire. Furthermore, it is believed that wearing trendy attire enhances the personality of the individual. This, in turn, improves his self esteem and he may even win the respect/admiration of his colleagues / friends. However, this positive side of having branded apparel is overshadowed by its negative aspects. First and foremost, clothes endorsed by celebrities are usually very expensive. Consequently, the obsession with wearing branded costumes may hurt the financial health of a middle class family. Secondly, fashion trends are ephemeral, lasting at the most one season. This casts doubt on the long term utility of these clothes. Hence, wastage of dresses is a huge concern. Last but not least, there are serious aspersions on the quality of clothing material as they are meant for short term usage. Therefore, it is evident that negative aspects of buying fashionable clothes dominate its few positive effects. To conclude, it is clear that fashionable clothes are more of a luxury than a necessity. Performance in any walk of life should not depend upon the type of clothes one wears; rather it should depend on one’s intellect and education. Therefore, it is reasonable to state that negative aspects of following fashion trends outweigh its positive side.