Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People’s views differ as to whether or not electronic games exert a negative effect on individuals who play them. While many people consider video games a harmful recreational activity, I believe that it is a benign form of recreation and education. On the one hand, there are several reasons why video games are considered detrimental. First of all, computerized games have been widely regarded as a source of addiction as many people, especially the young, have been diagnosed addicted to games to a certain extent. To be specific, a substantial proportion of gamers has been found addicted to various forms of games such as computer-based or console games over the last few years. Furthermore, there has been public accusations against game developers whose products rated surpass the acceptable level of violence. This is a wake-up call for regulators who oversee this multibillion-dollar industry. On the other hand, I would argue that not all video games are harmful, but on the contrary, even beneficial to its players. Firstly, electronic games have been introduced as an effective, and practical methodology in teaching as it stimulates students in classroom environments, and facilitate cognitive development in young learners. Besides, video games help improve hand-eye coordination and attention as players usually have to perform physical movements and devise strategies and tactics simultaneously. Therefore, it is apparent to me that electronic gaming has been playing a crucial role in developing the education and mental health of young people. In conclusion, I could understand why many teachers and parents think of video games as a damaging activity, but it seems to me that the advantages of video games outweigh its disadvantages.