Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing online.

Since all books are available online these days, it is inevitable that libraries in public places will be shut down after some time. This essay will suggest that general convenience and energy savings are the principal advantages, whereas the impossibility of meeting with other people and worse information comprehension are the prime disadvantages of this. Without a doubt, an alternative to reading a book online from home or from other convenient places and resource savings are the main advantages of online libraries. It is no longer needed to go somewhere because you just want to read something since the Internet made it possible to do it online. Furthermore, online libraries dramatically reduce the use of energy resources needed to run a library in a building, which plays a crucial role in our environment. The principal example is Lebanon, where all public libraries are expected to be closed by the year 2030, which, as a result, will save tons of energy. However, the inability to meet with other like-minded and well-educated individuals and a worse understanding of information when reading an electronic book, compared to a real one, are the principal drawbacks. For many people, especially the older generation, going to a library is the only way to see and speak with other people, since they cannot do it online. Moreover, as it was recently proven by the British scientists, your memory and ability to concentrate are developing way better when you read a paper book. To sum up, online libraries are more convenient and environment-friendly than real ones, which should be seen as the prime benefits, however, worse understanding and inability to socialize should be considered as the main drawbacks.