The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

It is argued that humanity is facing its population rise as the greatest problem at the present time. This essay disagrees completely with that statement and aims to showcase the reasons for this phenomenon. The prime reason for the increase in the global population is undoubtedly related to the enhancement of healthcare. It is conspicuous that the healthcare system in several countries has improved a lot during the last decades.Indeed, new breakthroughs in medicine and modern policy concerning the management of severe diseases helped to broaden life expectancy. For example, people who were currently dying because of cancers or basic infections have a better life expectancy now, thanks to major medical progress. If many claim that this evolution may be harmful to humanity because the more we are, the more difficult it is to provide resources for everyone, it is crystal clear that there are many benefits associated with an overwhelming population.In fact, human is considered the engine of the world and of our modern civilisation. This is because people are the ones who produce through their work and consume at the same time.In this way, the correct statement we should consider is "the more we are, the more we can produce". Hence, nations that feature the most important inhabitants are the most powerful.The fact is that they manufacture a huge amount of goods that they consume at the same time, which leads to consequential economic growth. In conclusion, the surge in the population is mainly due to the improvement of our healthcare system as well as the scientific progress in medicine. However, it is crystal clear that instead of considering that phenomenon as negative, human beings should benefit from it.